Citizen Science: Project FeederWatch -- Count #14 Report w/Original PhotossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #science7 years ago

Citizen science is a great way to involve children and adults in discovery and contribute to scientific research and conservation. Project FeederWatch through Cornell University is a great way to get involved in citizen science. You can learn more at the Project FeederWatch website.

I typically watch birds on Saturday and Sunday. This is my report from my eastern Nebraska feeder site for 11-12 February 2017.


Created Using MS PowerPoint and Images from Project FeederWatch

February 2017

The 2016-2017 season goes through 7 April 2017.

Bird Watching Notes

Saturday

On Saturday I saw more White-Breasted Nuthatches than I have ever seen at one time. Last week I saw 3 White-Breasted Nuthatches and this week I saw 4 White-Breasted Nuthatches.

White-Breasted Nuthatch

I saw four White-Breasted Nutchatches in a tree at one time. Here is a picture on two of them on my peanut feeder.


Original Photo


Image Source

Downy Woodpecker


Original Photo


Image Source

Sunday

Sunday started with another beautiful sunrise.


Original Photo

Red-Bellied Woodpecker


Original Photo


Image Source

American Robin

The warm south winds have been blowing. And the migrating birds have been riding those winds. On Sunday I observed five American Robins in my feeder area.

The Robins are attracted to my berry tree. The berries in my tree have been ripening during the winter awaiting their return.


Original Photo

...

Here is a picture of one of the Robins picking a berry.


Original Photo


Image Source

Bird Counts

Counts for Current Period

My bird counts for the two-day period 11 - 12 February 2017.


Snapshot from Project FeederWatch Bird Count Summary

Summary of Counts this Season

CORRECTION: I got a ruling from Cornell University regarding the identification of the hawk in my counts. I did not know whether it was a Sharp-Shinned Hawk or a Cooper's Hawk. It is hard for a layman to determine the difference. Cornell University has positively identified the hawk as a Cooper's Hawk. I have updated all my previous count records submitted to Project FeederWatch to reflect this.


Snapshot from Project FeederWatch Bird Count Summary

Previous Project FeederWatch Post

Citizen Science: Project FeederWatch -- Count #13

Use of Original Photos

I used the SteemIt icon in my photo credit to indicate these photographs were originally posted on SteemIt.
The photographs in this post are free to be used by anyone as long as the photo credit is left on the photographs.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

Yes, watching a feeder can be great fun. I used to have one in my backyard, but I had to remove it when my cat discovered that for her aswell it served as a feeder,...

Yes, I have several predators and scavengers watching my feeders.

When I woke up at 1 am this morning, I saw a possum and two skunk scavenging on the ground under my feeders. It was too dark to get a picture of them.

Steem on,
Mike

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89