Citizen Science: Project FeederWatch -- Count #06 Report w/Original PhotossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #science8 years ago

Citizen science is a great way to involve children and adults in discovery and contribute to scientific research and conservation. Project FeederWatch through Cornell University is a great way to get involved in citizen science. You can learn more at the Project FeederWatch website.

Past Project FeederWatch data has been used to study the effects of viruses (see post about the West Nile Virus) and how they spread through ecosystems.

I typically watch birds on Saturday and Sunday. This is my report for 17-18 December 2016.


Created Using MS PowerPoint and Images from Project FeederWatch

December 2016

The 2016-2017 season goes through 7 April 2017.

Bird Watching Notes

Flash-Back to 2001

The cold weather this weekend combined with the snow showers reminded me of the time back in 2001 when some very large animals visited my feeder site.

My feeder site is not too far from a small farm. A few cows jumped the fence and escaped into our housing development. When I went out to fill the feeders the escaped cows heard the swoosh of the grain going into the feeders. It was like ringing the dinner bell. The cows started moving toward my feeders. I rushed inside to photograph them at my feeders.


Original Photo

There is a species of birds named Brown-headed Cowbirds which do not typically winter in this part of eastern Nebraska.

Because I was able to photograph the cows eating at my feeders, I sent this photo into Project FeederWatch to ask "Are these cowbirds?" They got a kick out of the photo.

Saturday

The weather started getting cold and blusterly on Saturday. There were snow showers most of the day with very little accumulation.

Temperatures (F): Low -4 and High 23

Northern Cardinal


Original Photo


Image Source

Red-Bellied Woodpecker


Original Photo


Image Source

Sunday

Sunday started out very cold. My outside thermometer read 9 degrees (F) below zero just before sunrise. Sunday was a bright, sunny day with light winds.

Temperatures (F): Low -8 and High 13

American Goldfinch

The population of American Goldfinches wintering here in eastern Nebraska typically declines in the winter months.


Original Photo


Image Source

Rock Pigeon

Over the last several years the number of Rock Pigeon visiting my feeder site has steadily increased.


Original Photo


Image Source

European Starling

Several times over the weekend it looked like a feeding frenzy as the European Starlings flocked around my feeders.


Original Photo


Image Source

Bird Counts

Counts for Current Period

My bird counts for the two-day period 17-18 December 2016.


Snapshot from Project FeederWatch Bird Count Summary

Summary of Counts this Season


Snapshot from Project FeederWatch Bird Count Summary

Previous Project FeederWatch Post

Citizen Science: Project FeederWatch -- Count #05

Use of Original Photos

I used the SteemIt icon in my photo credit to indicate these photographs were originally posted on SteemIt.
The photographs in this post are free to be used by anyone as long as the photo credit is left on the photographs.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

Those birds look beautiful.

Thank you!

It was a good weekend for photographing birds here. I think the cold weather brought more birds to my feeders. I went through 20 pounds of peanuts last week.

Steem on,
Mike

Wow they eat a lot. Sounds like there were lots of birds.

Those cows can eat a lot of seed, lol! Nice photo of the cardinal and red-bellied woodpecker, especially.

The cows spilled a lot of seed on the ground too. Because it was not there usual grain they moved on after about 5-10 minutes. I called the farmer after taking the pictures of the cows. They were not out of there fenced in area the next day.

Thank you! The picture of the Northern Cardinal and the Red-bellied Woodpecker are my favorite photos from last weekend.

Steem on,
Mike

I had to laugh at your cow story. Here's to more great birds and photography in your future feeder watch weekends, too!

Thanks! And thank you for your support, it is greatly appreciated.

Steem on,
Mike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47