Citizen Science: Project FeederWatch -- Count #04 Report w/Original PhotossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #science8 years ago

Citizen science is a great way to involve children and adults in discovery and contribute to scientific research and conservation. Project FeederWatch through Cornell University is a great way to get involved in citizen science. You can learn more at the Project FeederWatch website.

I typically watch birds on Saturday and Sunday. This is my report for 3-4 December 2016.


Created Using MS PowerPoint and Images from Project FeederWatch

December 2016

The 2016-2017 season goes through 7 April 2017.

Bird Watching Notes

Before the Two-Day Count Period

The day before the two-day count period was a beautiful day, great for taking pictures.

Dark-Eyed Junco

When the first Dark-eyed Junco shows up at my feeders I know winter is not far behind.


Original Photo


Image Source

European Starling

I am not a big fan of European Starlings. I much more prefer the indigenous bird species like Red-winged Blackbirds and Common Grackles. Common Grackles are smart they do not winter here in Nebraska.

The European Starlings are prevalent throughout the contiguous United States.


Original Photo


Image Source

Morning Dove

I finally observed a Morning Dove this FeederWatch season.


Original Photo


Image Source

Northern Cardinal

This Northern Cardinal landed in my berry tree. I took the opportunity to snap a quick photograph of him trying to blend in with red berries.


Original Photo


Image Source

Saturday

Saturday morning started with a spectacular sunrise.


Original Photo

A few hours later it started snowing.


Original Photo

Saturday was a snowy day at my feeders.


Original Photo

Squirrel

An entertaining sight was watching one squirrel try to climb the pole up to my feeder full of peanuts. That squirrel tried and tried but the falling snow made the poll wet and slippery.

The squirrel never made it to the peanuts.


Original Photo

Sunday

Sunday morning revealed a white covering of snow. The temperature was above freezing and the sun was brightly shining later in the day.

Blue Jay

I was able to snap this photo of a Blue Jay in my berry tree.


Original Photo


Image Source

Bird Counts

Counts for Current Period

My bird counts for the two-day period 3-4 December 2016.


Snapshot from Project FeederWatch Bird Count Summary

Summary of Counts this Season


Snapshot from Project FeederWatch Bird Count Summary

Previous Project FeederWatch Post

Citizen Science: Project FeederWatch -- Count #03

Use of Original Photos

I used the SteemIt icon in my photo credit to indicate these photographs were originally posted on SteemIt.
The photographs in this post are free to be used by anyone as long as the photo credit is left on the photographs.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

House sparrows and starlings are moving in for the winter! I like seeing the cardinals and blue jays -- I miss seeing them, here in Oregon's Willamette Valley. Stay warm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68010.47
ETH 3258.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68