You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Using the Sun as a probe for dark matter

in #science7 years ago

I'm actually more bullish on the idea of Neutrinos than on all the other experiments I know of trying to measure dark matter. Because gravity is so weak I'm biased towards the idea of using the giant fusion reactor as a tool.

Sort:  

Well, neutrinos exist for sure. For dark matter, it is less sure (as said elsewhere, there are theoretical options in which there is no dark matter). Here, the interesting part is to use neutrino experiments to constrain dark matter models. We have a dark matter experiment for free, in some sense ;)

Oh, geez. I'm such an idiot! of course, neutrinos exist. I was trying to mean high energy neutrinos that as evidence would support the hypothesis of resulting from dark matter annihilation. I was lazy and said something dumb, didn't realize until I read your response. Yeah, the "free" part is also cool.

I answered something... and my answer disappeared! Damned....

So, I was saying that we have actually results on this. High-energy neutrino data is analyzed, and we have not found any sign of dark matter in it. As a result, we can only constrain dark matter models. It is not as exciting as a discovery, but still, we can learn something from that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43