You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New phenomena in particle physics - searching for our dear SUSY (aka supersymmetry)

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Great post! Upvoted and thank you so very much for sharing. The graphics chosen were illustrating the matter very well.

I can't help myself but think that the energies released, under the form of superpartners, and observed through supersymmetry analysis will help elucidate the transfers of energies from the illusiveness of the bosonic/fermionic nature, having the mirror-like effect/equivalent in the symmetric phases of energy transfer, which to myself makes me wonder as there seem to have a link between the transfer of energy toward the so-called matter coming from the dark-matter side of things?!? It feels almost as if a corpuscular solid form was moved to its core from a source of energy that is seemingly in a liquid phase or maybe the better term would be plasma phase??? I'm still not clear on the terminology or how to express the the process & nature of what is in my mind. I'm trying to fill in the gap between my experience and the science expressed in your magnificent post.

Namaste :)

Sort:  

Thanks Eric!

I must apologize, but I am not sure to understand your comment... Do you mind clarifying a little bit? Sorry about that :(

Sorry for the jargon... It is a first and rather pale attempt at discussing the matter. No apologies from your end necessary really. LOL! Hey, I just did a few more touch-ups to it and it might point to what is actually in the mind of my experience. I cross my fingers and wish we'll be able to bridge the gap and find a common language to share on this matter.

I thank you for your patience and understanding. Namaste :)

Thanks Eric, for the clarification. Now I can try to formulate an answer ^^

The observation is a bit more complicated. Typically, what will happen is that the collision energy will be high enough to allow one to produce supersymmetric particles, that will then each cascade decay into a dark matter candidate (so that we have two of them in total) plus a bunch of Standard Model particles (and the bunch can be large). The exact definition of the bunch defines the many signals that are searched for.

But then, we also know that the Standard Model can mimic this signature. And we know the Standard Model rate. So the only think we have to do as wait and look for deviation when comparing what we expect (within the Standard Model) with what we observe.

But this is not the end of the story, as different supersymmetric setups can yield the same signature, and different new physics models (that are not supersymmetric) and also yield to such as signature. In short, saying that we have discovered supersymmetry is very hard. We will have to identify the superpartners, measure their properties and check that they match what we would expect in a supersymmetric context.

A lot of work on the table :)


Now, to come back to your question, at the end, we produce two dark matter candidates plus a bunch of other stuff. SO yes, we can see that as an energy transfer between the visible (colliding protons) and the hidden (the two dark matter guys). But there is no plasma here. All of this occurs very quickly and the energy density is too low to get anything. This contrast with heavy ion collisions that also occur at the LHC, once in a while, where a plasma of Standard Model particle can be formed.

I hope all of this helps! This may be the longest comment I have ever written on steemit ^^

Thanks a bunch for the time and efforts in meeting me in the middle sort a speak. ;) You deserve a full 100% of my upvote on this one and, it makes me glad to know that it might have been the longest ply you have ever made on this site, it is very appreciated!

The work on the table is cut for you, I can only agree! Couldn't it be possible to find a vector of energy transfer moving from the dark energy toward the proton? From there, the perspective would be shifted over to the reflection coming towards us, instead of the opposite created by us to research the depths of the dark matter. From here, the understanding would be that matter as we know it would be supported by the dark-matter and matter itself would be a result of dark-matter's synergies, possibly with gravity, to bring about matter?

In relation to the plasma as it only occurs with ion collisions, couldn't there be a plasmic solution of supersymmetric particles? Pardon the play on word but, as we say, I'm "poking in the dark" trying to connect the experience to the science. LOL!!!

Again, a giant thank you for your great answer and patience in relation to my inquiries. Namaste :)

Dark energy or dark matter? For the former, we are very much in the dark theoretically. However, for the latter, we have ideas on how to get information on it. From the rest of your comment, I assume you want to discuss dark matter, which is good as this is something within my expertise, unlike dark energy where I know little.

It is a bit tricky but we can do it. Dark matter is invisible, and thus does not leave any track in a detector, except that we will observe a energy-momentum imbalance. We can actually get information on the invisible by studying the visible (you can find more information here. But no gravity here, as the gravitational strength is way way way too weak at the LHC energy level.

I don't know anyone having done any supersymmetric calculation in the context of heavy ion solution. I believe the expected rates may be too low. (but here, I have no quantitative statement to approve my words). Maybe I should do it if I have time ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50