You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello, STEEMIT: Let's Talk About IQ

in #science7 years ago

I think it's important to consider what traits were valued when the first IQ test was developed. And if you pump someone full of enough Human Growth Hormone at the right ages, they'll gain some height.

Sort:  

Historical context is very important. The test has definitely changed and evolved over the 100 years it's existed. Thanks for pointing that out :D

And if you pump someone full of enough Human Growth Hormone at the right ages, they'll gain some height.

Is that true???

That's what I've heard but here's a study: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10021470

Holy crap! It's affecting their height by three and a half inches?? I wonder what the long-term affects are of such a procedure.

However, the effect of long-term growth hormone therapy on adult height in these children is unknown.

What would you think if there was a similar procedure for IQ?

I'd be a little concerned about the long-term impact and how parents might abuse it. It's one thing to bump your kid into a neuro-typical range so they can live independently etc. It's another to take your average child and pump him or her full of brain drugs so you can be a genius's parent.

Ok, so there's a gray area. I wonder what you think about designer babies. What if they could manipulate the genes prenatally so babies have increased IQs?

Have you ever heard about the study that showed CEOs have higher incidences of traits of psychopathy than the general population? As long as we don't fully understand intelligence, the changes we make to enhance it may lead to unforseen consequences like a less empathetic species. I'm not a scientist so I'm willing to accept evidence to the contrary if it's good enough. For now, I think we should tread carefully but I doubt we will. Not if CRISPR/Cas-9 can cure basically everything .

Have you ever heard about the study that showed CEOs have higher incidences of traits of psychopathy than the general population?

Yes, I've heard that.

I agree with your view that there are unforeseen consequences in tampering with these things.

There would be no point in having a human race of 160 IQ CEOs if they were all psychopaths lol

We'd last about two years tops before extinction lol

You have impressed me, btw. Following you.

Thanks, I appreciate that :) I'll resume posting regularly by next week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42