You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Piqued Lite – 8/3/2017 – The March Toward Human Genetic Enhancement - Scientists Successfully Remove Faulty DNA That Causes Heart Disease From Multiple Human Embryos Using CRISPR

in #science7 years ago

I don't have a scientific background but I try to keep note of these types of breakthroughs to whatever extent I can understand them. I saw Gattaca when it seemed like that sort of thing could never happen and looking back now, it's hard not to wonder if it won't tun out like that (or far worse). I'll go ponder (and read) some more 🤔.

Sort:  

It's a disconcerting, complicated step toward an even more complicated future. This technology has so much potential - but it's just that: potential energy. There are applications in every direction - time will tell.

I love this! It's such a huge step in the right direction, I just wish they would perfect it before introducing the gene slices into the wild: https://phys.org/news/2017-05-crispr-gene-hundreds-unintended-mutations.html

The wild, in this case, being human beings who reproduce unchecked, with no restrictions. Also, is this the first step in a new human species?

Well, I'm sure we are a ways away from any official attempt to birth a human being post-CRISPR - though CRISPR is easy enough that it could be attempted, theoretically, on the down low i guess.

In terms of a new human species - one measure would be whether homo sapiens could continue to breed with a CRISPR'd person - answer is almost certainly yes, barring some terrible mistake.

Otherwise, the sorts of changes being made with CRISPR so far are not the sort which might cause a species-level differentiation.

What a strange world we are making for ourselves.

I guess what I was thinking, is, the first CRISPR baby being the start of a new lineage, though it would probably take many generations to branch off, and I doubt it would be anything to extreme.

I was just reading an article about scientists saying this should be confined to the lab.

We have at least until the first CRISPR baby becomes sexually mature/active, but then what? Do we pass a law forbidding these people from reproducing because of factors outside their control?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47