You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Octopus: The Cursed Genius of The Ocean

in #science6 years ago

Bow to your Octopus Overlords!

Just kidding. Thanks for sharing this great post. I scuba dive occasionally and Octopus is at the top of the list of creatures I like to see. They are so very tough to spot though given the camouflage that you mentioned.

Reading your post made me wonder how they coordinate 8 legs. Do they have some that are more capable than others like handedness in humans? Just wondering.

Sort:  

Well, as I pointed out in the article, in fact, the hands themselves are coordinated. With such a control system I think they don't have lefties and righties. Besides their Central brain doesn't have the left and right hemispheres.

But, it is possible that more of the octopus prefer to use the anterior and lateral arms, because they are directly in his field of vision, while the hind arms perform function of mounting.

Ah, thanks. I should have caught that from the article. Without hemispheres it wouldn't make sense.

It was good question anyway, thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00