You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Space travel to the end of the universe… and back

in #science7 years ago (edited)

I enjoyed reading this post a lot! 95 years, that is very manageable, and soon men and women average age of dead will increase by a factor of two, I'm pretty sure about that. It is possible to get even quicker to the end of the universe, just check in the second book of Douglas Adams series Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy :) "The Restaurant at the End of the Universe". Off topic: I liked the film "Interstellar" touching this topic as well.

Sort:  

Thanks for passing by!

I am less sur that our life expectation will get a factor of 2 increase, in particular with the antibiotic resistance issues and stuff like that. But who knows. Only the future will tell us, as for many things ;)

Interstellar was a good movie. There were actually a bunch of general public events on the physics behind the movie, and people were very interested in these.

(I am not talking about Douglas Adams, but I could have mentioned it in the post... I haven't thought about it at all... Bad for me.)

I am less sur that our life expectation will get a factor of 2 increase

What about the work is done in eg the cell aging? I'm not knowledgable enough to determine at what stage this could lead to a halt to cell aging for humans, but apparently some initial success are presented with a halt to cell aging.

What are your thoughts about some of the scientists who believe we will be able to download our brains in not so many decades from now? AI integration with the human brain through initiatives like Neuralink? And what they try to do in China, transplant a head onto another body (apparently successfully done with dogs). I maybe a little bit a dreamer, but I for one believe we will be able to extend our lives tremendously in one or multiple ways.

I am not talking about Douglas Adams

I know, and you shouldn't have mentioned it, but I couldn't resist :) I truly find the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy hilarious, with a grand opening in the first couple of pages of the first book.

I agree with what you said concerning the improvements. The thing I am more afraid is the lack of improvements regarding diseases. I hope you are right and I am wrong. :)

Oh I can see the things as well that can harm humanity. It could be the anti biotics, it could be a disease we don't know yet, it could simply be the stupidity of humans to kill each other en mass, it could be AI that doesn't like humans. So many possibilities even that we will not make it long anymore as a whole, so many possibilities we will die younger in the future. But I like to think positive :)

Me too. In some way, it is better to make the best use of the time we have than being depressed because our time may be counted. That is what I am living for: enjoying every single moment :D

I master that better and better; learn from the past, view the future as something that will be there when getting there, and enjoy today to the max.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29