You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vibration - physics explained

in #science6 years ago

OF course simplified newtonian physics does not always include all of the subtle nuances, but I am having trouble understanding the higher ordinality needed with a sine wave. Of course the equilibrium position is a convenient concept in a frictionless environment, but my experience here on Earth is that things eventually stop and settle just so in the middle.

I would read the article you alluded to here though, with gusto!

Sort:  

We do not live in the frictionless environment, there is always a certain amount of damping. Maybe I should have gone further and introduced full equations that do include friction but I was worried it would scare people off :) I am, however, very satisfied with so far reactions and how well received this post is concerning the fact that the majority of my readers are not familiar with the subject. On the other hand, this text is veeeeery simple and not at all explained enough (in my opinion) to satisfy the needs of those with a scientific background or understanding. I am still finding the balance to satisfy both sides :) Thank you for your lovely responses and inputs, they will be taken into consideration and are very much appreciated. 💚💚💚

That's a very good approach and I like to keep it simple as well. I also like comments that clear the things for everyone. You are doing a great job!

Hey @zen-art
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Thank you for those motivating green hearts!

I feel like being on steem with people like you makes me smarter and happier :)

DId you understand @tvulgaris' question? I thought that he was saying that there is no equilibrium, and I think that things do actually arrive to equilibrium as long as we include friction. Also, as you listed on your charts, the equilibrium is at the point where velocity is maximum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72