Your Brain Thinks In Many Dimensions: As Much As 11, Scientists Say

in #science7 years ago

brain-multiverse.png


image courtesy to Newseek, Blue Bird Project


According to a fascinating article in Newsweek, our brain creates structures up to 11 dimensions complex during the thinking process.

The discovery was made when scientists started to apply complex mathematical formulas to the way neurons (and groups of neurons) are clicking on certain stimuli. They found out that neurons are grouping into ephemeral structures, very complex, but also completely volatile: once the process ended, that specific structures disappears like sand castles.

"We found a world that we had never imagined. There are tens of millions of these objects even in a small speck of the brain, up through seven dimensions. In some networks, we even found structures with up to eleven dimensions."

said Henry Markram, director of the Blue Brain Project, the organization which published the study.

I knew the brain was a very complex machinery, but I confess I'm finding it difficult to even understand structures created below the fifth dimension (and that's only because I saw Luc Besson's movie about The Fifth Element, you know).

But maybe I just created a few of those structures while writing this very post, who knows.

For a fascinating reading, head to the original article.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

I'm really enjoying the subjects you blog about so far. Fascinating stuff. The brain is like our earth's seas and oceans but infinitely deeper I'm sure. We know almost nothing.

Unbelievable! The brain is so complex !

What is crazy is the internet itself is structured strikingly similar to a neural network in the brain.

This stuff hurts my head haha... there is people out there that are saying our reality is just a simulation. It's to hard to think this early in the morning :) Great post!

Brain is a difficult beast. Those who can control it, for them world is heaven. But those who can't, it could make their life hell, eg. people suffering from anxiety, depression etc. Going to read the original article from your link. Thanks.

To every man is given the key to the gates of heaven, that same key also opens the gates of hell.

wow, that's an amazing view and it really kinda make sense to me
Keep it up man ✌

The brain is so complex, I believe it will never be able to fully understand itself.

That reminds me of that old saying:

Which is worse: ignorance, or apathy? Who knows? Who cares?

People call me apathetic but I don't care. People also call me condescending (that means talking down to people as if they don't understand simple things). ;)

I recall reading somewhere that honey bees dance using 11 dimension math or something like that... It's hard to remember details about things you don't understand :)

INFINITE VIBRATIONAL BE(in)GS !!! - )))

T_i'mE-LESS BE(in)GS ... so FREE !!! !!! - )))
ThaT WE can "choose" BOND-AGE .... - (((

TO-morroW NeVeR arrives ... every DaY i aWAKE .. ??? - )))
... it's TO- DAY )))

MY favorite THIN-G ... TO DO .... TO "DAY" !!! - )))

LOVELOVELOVE )))
greb'Z )

We humans are yet to know the unimaginable powers of brain. Still a long way to go perhaps. Good article.

Brain storming, brain washing, whatever we do with our brains, the fact remains the same: the brain deteriorates over time.

But thanks to the internet, lots of information we can read how to take care of our brains for full functionality and how to deal with our brains when we age.
No need to spend money consulting neurologist.

Thanks for the post @dragosroua!
Now we're reminded that brain has its potential to function to the fullest.
Lets take care our brains!
Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61932.16
ETH 3422.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49