You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MystiFACT-or-FICTION response #1 – Orgasmic oxytocin

in #science7 years ago (edited)

True that PEA is not generally classified as a hormone. It is a neuropeptide. Oxytocin is better classified as the connection hormone as it increases associations from both desireable and indesireable stimulation. Its classification as the love hormone ignores its role in fear conditioning. Without PEA's involvement, oxytocin would not effectively elicit a "love" deep rewarding association, more that of meh-like at best

Sort:  

Thank you for clarifying, as I touched upon in my article, oxytocin has a wide array of effects. I personally did not give the name 'love hormone' to oxytocin, it is simply what the hormone has become known as to many people as a sort of nickname. I agree that labelling if the love hormone does overlook the other aspects of the hormone and without PEA oxytocin would not elicit a feeling of love. That being said, oxytocin does cause some feeling associated with love which is how it got its nickname. Perhaps it is known as the 'love hormone' becasue it activates PEA.

Forgive me, I believe I was mistaken, oxytocin does not seem to influence phenethylamine levels as I had thought I remembered. Oxytocin is coinervated with dopamine however phenethylamine allows for the buildup of said dopamine. Which in turn I would think enhance oxytocin as well. For a moment I had thought oxytocin to similarly modulate dopamine reuptake.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58333.83
ETH 2280.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50