You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is there a God? A perspective from a scientific standpoint.

in #science8 years ago

This question will touch lot of pain points in many. If I have to discuss I will have to take into account whatever little I know about Hinduism.

In Hinduism there are two concepts or philosophies and both have common as well as divided following.

One is called Advaita philosophy. In this there is one supreme Brahman and everything is part of the supreme.

Another one is called Dvaita philosophy. Here there are two entities. One is god and other is rest of us.

I like the Advaita philosophy. It establishes supreme. It has no shape form or anything. The best I can describe it is as "energy".

Everything has one common component in them called "Prana". If I have to translate, it can be said to be "life force".

If the above concept is taken into consideration then we reach a point where I can say that the supreme does not need to exist. It is beyond the concept of existence. It can never come to exist and at the same time it can never cease to exist.

That is the best I can present my opinion with respect to concept of god with respect to science.

Sort:  

Advaita sounds interesting, I like the idea that we can reach a point where the supreme not need to exist. If there is a creator of some sort, he would be beyond existence. All I truly know is that I don't know.

Well that is the beauty of age old knowledge that India holds. It is a shame that current generation of India doesn't give a damn to explore this gold mine. I am one of those ignorant ones too.

If at all you like to read about this kind of philosophy, you may find "complete works of Swami Vivekananda" on internet. They are available as PDFs. He explains all the concepts in an easy to understand language with many interesting stories.

I'll have to check him out. Being that you are aware of the old knowledge, at least you are in a better place to begin to explore deeper into that. I find philosophy interesting, having taken some classes in college on the subject. Although I usually like to go deep within myself to try to find self realization, it is always good to learn about different teachings.

Sure. You learn a lot that way. I had this great conversation with you. I wish this platform starts appreciating this kind of content.

I have a couple other philosophy posts if you would care to read them, click here
I hope you enjoy!

Read them. Liked them. Followed you. I wish you a successful steemit journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34