You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Live from CERN - no more clouds in the LHC tunnel

in #science7 years ago

Really cool as always. Have you written in detail on how the various sensors actually work? I went back and couldn't find anything in your posts, but to me it's one of the more confounding parts of the whole enterprise - building the accelerator itself is one thing - but building the building sized devices that sense the results of the collisions - and how those work - is a total mystery to me.

Sort:  

I have never written anything about the electronics of the machine, but I may consider it in the future as you asked about it. ~I could detail how a particle physics detector works in general. Maybe one day (I need to read a little bit about it as this is a bit far from my field) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59370.83
ETH 2591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46