You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paper discussion #4 – The Cloning Revolution

in #science7 years ago

That seems particularly unnerving - but only because the young of this particular species of primate looks a hell of a lot like a demon wearing an evil mask. (Although I guess cloning applications in animal testing aren't ideal either, although I can see why it might be useful)

Sort:  

There are a lot of ethical problems involved in cloning technology. The authors admitted that even though they followed international guidelines, cloning of non-human primates is more accepted in China than anywhere else. I think people find it creepy because of the idea that we humans are playing God by creating copies of organisms.

That's definitely a big part of the generally negative attitude - personally, I don't have any problem with that whatsoever - the idea of us "playing god" - but there is something unseemly about learning to clone complex mammals and then using them for lab tests, or eating, or organ growing. If you're a fan of the Dune series, it's reminiscent of the Bene Tlelaxu - just gives me the heebie jeebies. Having said that, next thing you know they'll be cloning me to get me a new lung or something and, who knows, I might jump at the opportunity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38