You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Most Dangerous Ant in the World

in #science6 years ago

Interesting post on ants @agmoore!

I've had so much stories and experiences about ants. At a particular time, they infilterated our house and got themselves into our freshly prepared pot of soup. Grandma had to dispose it in a bin bag along with its juicy meats. A particular time in high school, we had to evacuate an hostel because they were simply everywhere. Reading through your post and visiting those links, I see they've done more damage than I'm aware of.

However, looking on their bright side: Ants are wonderful and hardworking creatures. A sacred book do advice the lazy and poor to go learn from the ants. In my place here in Nigeria- a particular ant specie roaming in your house in large uncontrollable population signifies wealth to come- and it is often time true.

Sort:  

You remind me of my youth when you speak of ants bringing good luck--but in a different context. My mother's family was Sicilian and it was considered a great treat to eat a goat's head, brain and all. I actually partook of this once when I was a child. Now that I know the kinds of diseases that can be transmitted in brain tissue, I'm horrified, but that was my family's culture. So, I think of ants running through your house in the same way... I respect the culture and recognize that this tradition probably grew out of some practical experience in that culture, but ants in the house are not good, I'm sorry. I will stick to that :)
I appreciate your comments and they help to convince me to write part II and maybe even part III. There are so many questions I have, so much I couldn't obviously explore here. This is not an esoteric subject. It's one that has real significance.
But first, I have to learn more!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42