You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist #5 - Lycoperdon perlatum - The Common Puffball

in #science7 years ago

Cool!! I used to love these guys when I was a kid. The only place I could find them was in the woodchips in my Nana's front yard when I was mowing and trimming the hedges. However I remember the plumes of spores sometimes being different colors, from whitish to yellowish or brown. Perhaps the memories have been tampered with by my imagination... but what I know for sure is they seemed like magic to a kid of 10! Never knew they were edible. Anywhoo, I'm a (very) amateur mycologist myself, so I'm happy I discovered your page. I'll be sure to follow :)

P.S. As to the choice of two titles, I like them both equally. "The mushroomer" is a bit whimsical with more association of (perhaps) magic mushrooms, While the Amateur Mycologist also comes off as a bit playful or tongue in cheek but serious at the same time. I guess ultimately I'd lean towards the latter, but I'm only basing it off this one post I've read so my input may not count for much lol

Sort:  

I think I agree with you on the title - there's always a hurdle to overcome when you're talking about mushrooms that you're not just interested in psychedelics, which is certainly something I'd like to avoid.

I appreciate the thoughtful response!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44