You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist #6 - Lactarius indigo - The Indigo Milk Cap

in #science7 years ago

An extraordinary mushroom!! Any time bright blue appears in nature it is truly a sight to be beheld... rather rare. I was wondering, what do you think of the book "Mushrooms Demystified"? It seems like an excellent source material for studying mycology, I read it avidly years ago. However I haven't lived in places where nature was too accessible so I've only ever taken a couple of spore prints and so my knowledge remains theoretical only. I'm about to move to the Appalachian Mtns in a few days so maybe i'll start to go mushroom hunting more. Either way I'll keep reading your posts to refresh my memory on the different types, and learn about new ones I didn't know before! Sorry for the rambling comment, lol. Have a great day!

Sort:  

Not at all! So happy to talk to a fellow enthusiast of any level of interest.

Mushrooms demystified is a wonderful book and i've also lost myself just perusing the entries and plates. Arora is an excellent writer and talented mycologist. The book has two major problems:

  1. It is best suited for west coast mushroom hunti
  2. It is a bit outdated regarding some genus's and probably on microscopic traits as well.

I don't deal with spore ids too much - and i now have books specific to the east coast or better suited for nationwide hunting. (Milk mushrooms of the northeast and another specifically about boletes... can't remember off hand)

But, as a starting point and general resource, it's a fabulous book.

Do keep reading - I'm going to deal with a new species every couple of days usually posting in the evening. And do join the discord channel - (it would just be you and me at the moment ) - if you have mushrooms you find and want help identifying. The link is in the post.

Nice! Whereabouts in the Appalacians? I'm right outside Asheville. My fiance and I go out hiking all the time and seeing so many different mushrooms inspires me to expand my knowledge. Just followed ya @d-pend. Here's to a smooth move. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66