Casimir effect and some simple ideas about levitation

in #science7 years ago

20171008_162654.jpg

Hello friends!

I salute you all again from my ongoing contract on board Celebrity Summit !

20170925_135141.jpg

I had some little time to think about something called the Casimir effect. Now the Casimir effect ( and no it is not a sweater) is something found in quantum field.
More accurately the Casimir effect and the Casimir–Polder force are physical forces arising from a quantized field. They are named after the Dutch physicist Hendrik Casimir who predicted them in 1948.
This force it is best described and more easily calculated in terms of the zero-point energy of a quantized field in the intervening space between the objects.
It can be expressed in terms of virtual particles interacting with the objects either attracting or a repulsion witch in a easy to understand language means (or could mean ...because it is still a theory) levitation and/or extreme propulsion.

I wonder myself many times why not in 2017 the open public or more exact us people don't have our flying cars ....

I mean it takes to dam long to invent one?

Did we lose all hope after inventing the airplane?

All these ideas about levitation circle the internet and there are many books on them, but what is noticeable is that they are very old ....I mean nothing new has come up in these few years...

But until I receive an answer...

I started a first by looking at Maglev trains ....
Maglev trains are traveling by using magnetic levitation between 2 bands and from here I found the Casimir effect.
Now both need 2 things to achieve levitation in each case is 2 bands or plates (forget the photons just keep it simple)

So in the case of Casimir you need to repel something and in maglev also you need to repel something....(more easy if you think it like this)
But in case of MAGLEV the levitation depends on the velocity ...
So how can we achieve this?
Maybe a separate power source?
I mean for us (humans) we cannot yet harvest the power of the vacuum ( I'm not talking about the vacuum cleaner but the vacuum of space)
So once again we use other means of propulsion like rockets witch are unstable .
In this case I propose something...a small idea...

Why not just try to negate the Earth gravitation just for a few seconds?

Lets for the sake of argument just think on what could happen...

For the moment I will end my post here, I am Cynetyc and with respect I will see you next time!

Bibliography and sources:

Sort:  

The bridge is very nice that I painted some time ago

image

It looks very nice well done @arjunmartavela!

U5drGaXFv6zATiFbRmhLBtKdhNKTxU1.gif

Ha ha like a boss!

Didn't knew about few of the things
But those are some pretty deep thoughts

It was just "food for thought" ...in the future I plan to explain more with practical experiments .
For me Steemit is about engaging and I am trying to just throw some ideas into the frying pan so to speak...

I DO RESPECT YOUR THOUGHTS BUDDY .
Keep it up :)

That was great to know about it thanks for sharing about it @cynetyc

Thank you very much @cityslicker!

very interesting now i know thanks to you :)

Thank you also @blazing for reading my small article!
Sometimes I just like to discuss about things that for a long time I was wondering like this subject: The Casimir Effect.
I have more to say but I am hoping that I will open the subject in a later time when I can show for real some practical experiments.
For that I need little bit more time...and lets say energy.

now that's going to be cool i will be looking forward to it :)

that epic bro really cool indeed

its my pleasure to check you post thanks for sharing

Now that was great article to read totally wonderful !!

Casimir effect its awesome to know about it buddy :)

Thank you so very much @starving!

It looks very nice well done @arjunmartavela!

Thanks for giving the chance to enjoy this beautiful news!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78