Father Ramblings #010: Crystal Chemistry Set (Part 1)

in #science6 years ago

Dear Steemians,

I finally got to start a crystal project with my son. Before I try to provide any suspense, here is what we tried to do!

After opening the package, there was a reason that this package was for kids 8 and up. First, there are a few chemicals that are apparently harmful if they get in contact with the skin. Then, there is the issue where you can’t drain away the leftover chemicals and must be carefully disposed of.

Once we opened up the package, we saw the following:

Even though your child might be uncomfortable with the gloves and the safety goggles, please tell them to keep them on!

Now came the surprise spoiler for my son and I. This was a two-day project and the first day was just mixing stuff up. Son and I were so bored that we had to find other things to do. I guess that’s why this was a Part 1, Part 2 type of deal.

That was literally the whole result of the first part of the experiment. We mixed up a salt mixture so that crystals could form in the closed beaker, and then we created molds so that later on, we could attach crystals to the molds in the second part of the day.

Honestly, for the level of danger for this experiment, not really sure if the results would be worth it. With young children, the results have to be more eye-catching for them to really get engaged. Just my two cents.

Because we started the experiment, we will finish it and I will show the results in Part 2 of the post. Who knows, Part 2 might be really cool!

Have a good day!
Chris


Latest Index File

Sort:  

Awww cute son😄

Thanks~!

such a good father spending time with him
it should be my future-figure haha

Thanks, although this time, I don't think it was a success. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93