Lactate as Brain Fuel - Experiments and Implications

in #science6 years ago (edited)

brain-155655_1280.png

In this video, I explain the implications of lactate as substrate for cerebral metabolism. Some of the major topics I discuss are:

  • brain metabolic flexibility
  • brain metabolism in the fed and fasted state (and prolonged fasting)
  • some personal anecdotes
  • lactate as brain fuel
  • research studies that have explored this concept
  • and more.

I end the video with a practical perspective in mind by discussing some of my personal strategies to maintain brain metabolic flexibility. These include (you may never guess) nutritional ketosis, intermittent fasting, as well as cold exposure or cold thermogenesis.

Please watch the video for the full explanation:


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Foarte suprinzator - "self - experimenter" este o categorie care credeam ca nu mai exista de mai bine de un secol :)
Impresionant ! Keep it up !

Ai fi surprins!

videos are nice and helpful, I like friends

videos are helpful

Thats great exsperiment about human brain....thanks for you share it. That new news for me thanks alot @cristi

These are very interesting things about brain metabolic flexibility. I did not know until now how lactate is used by the brain. Great video!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59