Before and After Blood Ketones - Testing MCT Oil [Self-Experiments]

in #science6 years ago

Ever since I got my dual blood glucose-ketone meter back in December, I was very eager to run a lot of tests with it, aside of the daily tracking.

In this test my purpose was to see if MCT oil has an impact on my blood ketones. We know that MCT oil is an oil refined from coconut oil, and it only contains triglycerides of 6, 8, 10, and 12 carbons. Out of these medium chain triglycerides, the one that most rapidly converts to ketones in the liver is C8 or caprylic acid.

MCT Oil contains about 45-65% C8. Anyway, here's what I did:

  • I tested my baseline glucose and ketones.
  • then I had 10ml of MCT Oil.
  • then I waited for 40 minutes and tested again.

If you're interested in the outcome, please watch the full video :)


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56