A Take on Caloric Restriction and Longevity - [Peter Attia MD]

in #science7 years ago

Resources #102.png


Peter Attia, from who I learned about the ketogenic diet back in 2013, has started writing about caloric restriction and longevity.

It was probably back in late 2015 when Attia stopped expressing personal opinions on diet and he seemed to back-off from adamantly promoting the keto diet. In one particular public appearance, on Tim Ferriss show, he said he enjoys eating copious amounts of vegetables and he might not be strictly ketotic.

In light of the recent research lights on the ketogenic diet, is he getting back to his old statements? I'm quite positive he might be. But, we'll see.

Anyway, Attia looks from a high level perspective at a whole range of organisms from yeast, to fruitflies, to mammals and to humans. What I admired about this fellow when I started looking into his writings was the critical perspective on everything and the ability to question even his personal statements and beliefs. And that's what's conveyed in this first part of a multi-series write-up.

I haven't revealed any specifics of the calorie restriction and longevity details discussed by Attia, so, if you're interested in the subject, be my guest and read that on his website:


A Take on Caloric Restriction and Longevity - [Peter Attia MD]


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

I remember watching a news report on calorie restriction adding years to your life, but dismissed it because I love food!

However, a couple years ago I did it and lost weight and felt better. Six months ago, I drifted from it. But THIS gives me motivation backed by science. Thanks! You’ve just added years to my life!

CR may not be pleasant if your diet is deficient, but if you do CR with a nutritious diet, it may quite be easy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76