You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Elon Musk and Google Open Their Artificial Intelligence Platforms to Researchers

in #science8 years ago

Wow, this is pretty cool, somewhat scary stuff...

A while back I was browsing the web to find open source or free to use AI tools and environments for a project I was dreaming of. I was surprised at how much was available, including access to IBM's Watson, and a programming library called Deeplearning4j.

It seems as if the OpenAI Universe might be usable to create a web crawling agent capable of successfully responding to a lot of Captcha type challenges.

Too much fun, not enough time... ;)

Sort:  

TY! And very true. Any generalized AI can absolutely lead down 'darker paths' whether it's getting around 'humanity checks' like captcha's or further down the road a more Matrix or Skynet sort of scenario. To me this always leads back to the question of "What exactly makes us human?" If what we are can be replaced by AI, to many it seems to cheapen our humanity to a degree. Personally I take it in the sense of finding that next thing we as humans have to offer...at least until AI++ comes around to replace our more abstract or creative aspects (like an AI Leonardo DaVinci type program.)

There definitely is a ton of open source AI tools and libraries out there. I toyed around with PyBrain for a while some years back. Personally I've been interested in seeing how combinations of neural nets (to provide a more gut instinct response) with logic flow chart systems (more of the conscious reasoning) could be used to build up a more general AI while having the webcrawling and analysis capabilities of searching and digesting information off the internet.

I totally understand on the 'not enough time' aspect of things, lol. On the upside, it was cool to see that OpenAI was saying it only took 9 lines of code to get things going, which is quite a stretch from what I had to go through to set things up in the past. I await the turnkey solution for this where people can just download an app to further the AI training.

To me this always leads back to the question of "What exactly makes us human?"

Indeed! My friend @baerdric raised a perhaps related question in a spectacularly good short Sci-Fi story recently. That question is one of our identity. What makes you you and me me? I think you might really enjoy his story:

Spaceship of Theseus

If the OpenAI can produce interesting results in 9 lines, maybe I'll try playing with it one of these days! ;)

That's one I've had in my 'to read' bookmark folders, but now it's at the top of my list to get to next. I can't wait to see how he approached that question.

Terrific! I don't think you'll be disappointed! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62311.78
ETH 2418.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67