You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello, STEEMIT: Let's Talk About IQ

in #science7 years ago

Mensa has a standardized IQ test you can take. I scored 157. Keep in mind that none of the things on that test help me in life. We also should keep in mind that everyone has their own genius meaning, everyone has something that they do exceptionally well that others would not be able to match.

Sort:  

IQ tests are one small measuring stick. I remember taking IQ tests before I went to college. I scored 148 and 151, taken the first of my senior year and the end of my senior year. I don't know what it means, but there it is. It doesn't measure drive, determination, compassion, empathy nor other things that you need for a full and meaningful life. You realize the value of those attributes later mostly.

I agree, everyone can be genius at something. IQ only measures general intelligence. The ability to perform across a wide range of games. But you can be highly intelligent and accomplish nothing, or of average intelligence and accomplish a ton.

I scored 157. Keep in mind that none of the things on that test help me in life.

Alright. Not reading any further. Conclusion accepted!

Mensa has a standardized IQ test you can take. I scored 157.

Holy shit! That's like 3 standard deviations above normal!

I might have to check out the Mensa test for that video I was talking about.

everyone has something that they do exceptionally well that others would not be able to match.

While a appreciate the sentiment, I'll have to disagree lol

that none of the things on that test help me in life

That is intentionally. They do not want you to have "trained" that test in daily life.

Still sucks because you can train everything. As I described in my answer here: https://steemit.com/science/@lennstar/why-iq-tests-suck-at-testing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37