You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Could A Sniff Test Be Helpful In Diagnosing Alzheimer's Disease?

in #science8 years ago

I thought you were going to talk about Alzheimer's being sniffed out by dogs, like some cancers. That would be amazing wouldn't it?
Alzheimer's is scary - I've lived with it up close and personal and it's the most confusing disease to be around. One moment the person seems lucid and the next they are gone again. I do hope a cure or help comes soon to slow it down. FYI sometimes Alzheimer's can't be diagnosed until after death - autopsy. True.

Sort:  

i am also close to someone who for the most part we are sure has it but hasn't been officially diagnosed.. signs are sure there though, this smell thing is new though!

A loss of taste was something I noticed with my loved one., along with anger, paranoia, suspicion, hallucinations. And then, he didn't know anyone but me in the end. Thankfully they don't know what's happening when the embarrassing stuff happens.
Just be patient and kind and not challenge....I made the mistake of challenging him not in a bad way but by saying, You like cucumbers when he'd push the plate away and tell me to take them off the plate. If only we could do do overs..... ;/

it's such a hard thing to go through not only for the individual, but everyone around them who loves them

It is very difficult. I had the help of a nurse twice a week for bathing purposes and a bit of a break and I tried to get him into a day program but he wasn't having any of it. There is a lot of support from the Alzheimer's Society. I recommend them resourcing you. All the best!

Have you ever read a book called Still Alice? or seen the movie? It just occurred to me that it might be helpful to you....I wish I had seen it while I cared for my loved one.

no i haven't, thanks for the rec!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50