Dealing with Flat Earth sect

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Last few days I had 'pleasure' of dealing with Flat Earth sect. I saw on Fb someone posting video on how Earth is flat. I saw few videos about that theory year or two ago, saw it was bs and continued on don't caring about it. Problem is that many people started to believe that theory and so started to post about it. That theory is debunked in every aspect and it so funny that after all that debunking someone can still believe it. I wanted to ask them few questions, but they coudn't answers first one... According to their theory Sun is always above level of the clouds. I ask them how then they explain phenomena of clouds being lighted up from bottom on sunrise and sunset. In their model that can't be possible. There was many many comments on my question in many Flat Earth groups, but no one tried to answer it. Instead, they were talking on how dome is above Earth, satelites don't exist, Nasa is lying everything tec. No one really tried comment with arguments. Eventually after few days every single Flat Earth group banned me hahahahaha. This was only video they where offering me. They posted it million times.

This video shows that peace of plastic reflect light. Just wow...here it is...Earth is flat!

Simple explanation of this phenomena is this. Words are in croatian language, but you will understand it.

image

They are like sect. They are so blindly convinced Earth is flat, that they can't look at evidence racionally any more. Any argument pointing on stupidity of their theory is rejected in their mind by reflex action. When your belief is stubborn, every new information is going thru filter of your belief, so every evidence against your belief in ignored automatically. When you are part of some sect, your obligation is to protect beliefs of that sect and that is what are they doing.

Sort:  

There was a post these days on Steemit with a Flat-Earth gathering. It looked pretty fun.

Now, obviously, the theory is complete rubbish. But let people believe what they want. Be accepting. It doesn't mean support their claims, but it also doesn't mean bashing them online.

I wasn't bashing them :) I just wanted to ask simple questions. Didn't expect they become sect. They didn't offer me one argument of million comments, no one talked about any aspect of this video. I'm sorry to say, but they become fanatics.

The Flat Earth Society is a bunch of trolls playing a game. Congrats, you fed the trolls.

Don't be delusional. I know many of them, they are regular people really believing this theory.

I dub you patsy.

It would be great if I knew what your phrase mean :P

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cmoljoe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Hmm your explanation is no different than the one they are offering.
You seem very arrogant to me, maybe that was the reason you are banned from their groups not because they disagree what you are commenting.
Your goal was to argue with those stupid sect people as you are calling them and all you get was a ban. So I don't understand why are you laughing to the fact that you are banned because you can't prove your point to them.
Did you called them stupid and sect people in their groups ??
You are creating target over here grouping people into sect and giving them negative attributes carried by the term of sect.
I don't have anything against your argument , it is one more argument to discuss.
Love and peace

So, I'm arrogant because I ask questions? LOL

I can't prove my point hahaha What is not clear to you about my point about clouds? It is so simple.

No because you are calling people "sect people and stupid".
Everything is clear with the cloud point , but only one argument can't prove anything.
And question is also why do you think that it can ??
And also why are you laughing again in the place where there is no place for lough??
I read this haha as "I am better can't you see that "

You didn't read my post correctly. I said it was first of many questions I wanted to ask them. They wrote million comments, but NO ONE adressed first question about clouds. I'm not mocking them, I just wanted to show them faults of their belief. When I say they become sect, I'm not making stuff up because they become sect which block anyone who question their belief.

I laugh not because 'I'm better than you', it's because questioning anyone's belief in this world is forbiden. You ask question...blocked hahaha

There is a moderator or the person which is regulating the forums. Many times I was blocked on different subjects (not about the flat earth).
They have the power to ban or promote some subjects.
When you are banned you are not banned by the community of thousands of people , you are banned by the forum moderator.


So you write a post about bashing Flat Earthers and how they can't prove crap yet you post the dumbest image to explain the solar eclipse. Since when does the Earth suck in the light from the sun? Light travels in parallels.. And where in the hell have you seen the sun light up the bottom of clouds?
As you can see, no such thing even happens.. The sun is visually cmpletely below those clouds yet the pink outline of light is along the top edge of the clouds..SHOCKING! So before you go an make a post about complete nonsense, maybe have something to back it up besides name-calling and the worst diagram of an eclipse I have ever seen.

Hey Flatearther, this video is showing lack of knowledge your mind have. To not go much in to it, just google sunset clouds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44