You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Double-Blind Violins: Towards A More Objective Selection

in #science7 years ago

Great post, @ertwro. I just finished watching the video of the violin comparison. Very interesting. There is no doubt that there are some very fine modern instruments being made.

My father is a violin expert. He has a little shop where he restores and sells beautiful fiddles. We have seen all sorts of instruments over the years. When my father has a client that needs to compare instruments he calls me to come over and play while they listen :) Always fun.

Every fiddle has its own unique voice. That is not just talk, they are all unique. I have played hundreds of violins in my life, from cheap Chinese to Stradivari and they all have their own sound. It is lovely to pick up an old rough looking violin and hear a lovely sound. It was only a couple of weeks ago my father asked me to try a fiddle that looked like it had been ridden hard and put away wet. The pegs were obviously carved with a pocket knife :) The sound was lovely. It was NOT loud, but it had a nice little voice. It was the kind of instrument that I could play quietly in a room by myself. The instruments shown in the video were concert hall instrument with gigantic voices. These can cut through an entire orchestra at full volume. Most of us mortals don't need that anyway :)

My fiddle is an 1807 Borelli. I have had it since 1992 and love it. It is dark and have a nice even town across the whole range. (You can hear it on all my Steemit videos) My fathers fiddle is anonymous and he has had it for decades. It is bright and sweet. He loves it :) We also have a 3/4 sized Gagliano from this mid-1700s I believe. It is very used, but sounds fantastic for a 3/4. There is an old Amati somewhere at the house as well along with some lovely anonymous fiddles. We have not had many modern instruments as they are tough to come by, oddly enough. The good modern instruments are usually rarely out on the market. They are snatched up and used day after day. Older stuff tends to be more available.

Great post. I'd love to see more like this :)
Thanks,
Bucky

Sort:  

Playing a new violin is always like meeting a new person. Some are old and some are young, some are rich and some in the rags. Some have horrible personalities and some are a match for us but not for the rest.

Even if modern some instruments are good I can't help but want one with history.

Checked some of your content, is great having more people like you here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50