You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Citizen Science: Project FeederWatch -- Count #14 Report w/Original Photos

in #science6 years ago

Dear @etcmike to be able to understand well what you were doing, and to better decipher the reports of data and histories that you presented, I went to see the original project and I was amazed how well it was structured. In his page https://feederwatch.org/ I got a lot of information of interest, but above all I appreciated the enormous amount of photographs of birds that are there and the possibility that they are allowed to incorporate others, so I hope to have some quality and be able to upload it in the future. The photos of the "EyeWitness" BirdSpotter Judge's and People's Choice Winner of the 23rd and 24th of February are impressive. I'm a university professor in Food Technology in Venezuela, and I was surprised by the size and scope of the project you represent. The contribution to the scientific community is invaluable. I wish you much success, and I hope that your work is valued all over the world. Congratulations. Best regards.

Sort:  

Thank you! Your comment means a lot to me.

I would like to make you aware of the eBird project like Project FeederWatch except they collect data from Citizen Scientists around the world. I thought you may be interested in this project.

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Your project and what they do I loved, so in the coming days I will continue reading more about it. My work as a Professor in the food area consumes me almost all my time, and it is possible that I can not participate directly, but rest assured that I will do a lot of promotion, especially among my colleagues who are marine biologists. I reiterate my congratulations for the great job you do. Best regards.

Thank you again!

As you speak to your colleagues you may want to bring up the post I referenced:
https://steemit.com/science/@etcmike/international-progress-to-conserve-canada-warblers
It describes the efforts to monitor bird populations and how citizen scientists have played a role in conservation efforts.

As a retired workaholic I know what it is like to have a career consume the majority (if not all) of your time.

My background is math and physics (Masters Degree level). I say this because even though biology is not my area of expertise, even I can contribute to this citizen science project. You just have to be an observer to participate.

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41