HUGE Imperial Moth & Caterpillar

in #science5 years ago (edited)

Imperial Moth (Eacles imperialis).jpg

Moth 2.jpg

Moth 3.jpg

I have seen these big beautiful Moths many times over the years, but didn't usually have a camera. On this day I did (last summer I think). They seem pretty hesitant to fly during the daytime, which means they can be observed up close. The coloration is striking, along with the size. The wingspan is up to 7 inches. Up close it looks as soft and fuzzy as a kitten.

The caterpillar of the Imperial Moth, is also huge and striking. Still soft, and fuzzy, but certainly not kitten cuddly.
Caterpillar1.jpg

Caterpillar2.jpg

caterpillar3.jpg

Different instars are different colors. The one I photographed is probably the fifth, and final one. (It is fully grown.) This caterpillar is beautiful, but also a bit SCARY looking. When I touched it, it started tossing its upper body, and head, violently back and forth, as if to say...

"Stay Back!.. or you will feel the wrath of the Big Green Monster!"

monster 200.png
image

It scared me!

Later, Cy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16