You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Google Took Over My Browser!

in #science6 years ago

LOL! I'm not sure if this is a genius recruiting tool or a downright creepy one! I've not seen anything like this since my university days... although, in some ways it reminds me a lot of wee hours in the morning trying to submit a programming task/assignment to an automated marker, which would run a whole heap of test and edge cases. ASCII Rabbit is cool though!

Sort:  

Oh those wonderful automated markers. Great for learning about unit testing and edge cases, and the importance of them. Not so great for encouraging useful documentation though, and the general lack of it is something I find frustrating with the search for code snippets and repurpose for your needs. So many of the snippets take so much more time to work out what they do when they aren't accurately documented.

I may also have passed a coding unit thanks to documenting my work that didn't want to work...

Oh documenting, and not just in coding but everywhere... Everyone thinks they don't need to document because 'it's obvious'.... But then they won't when they use other people's work that isn't documented... Because it was obvious to the creator!

Very much so. I'm off to a pre new job coffee and walk through the kitchen, and I'm going to have my eyes open for documented processes. Everyone likes things done a certain way, but if that way isn't documented, then when a new person comes in, they'll have their own way to do that thing, and it may not match expectations, even when it achieves the same results.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68293.69
ETH 3899.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69