You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Myth or Fact? #5 – Does drinking distilled water kill you?

in #science8 years ago

I had never even heard of anyone saying drinking distilled water is bad for you. Having been in third world countries where the water may have bacteria in it that could literally kill or make us quite sick, it seemed common knowledge to boil the water and only drink the distilled part.

I haven't been exposed to an osmosis diagram since grade school, but always found it fascinating how the balance was made and an equilibrium established.

My dad actually uses distilled water in his sleep apnea mask machine to keep him from not breathing while he sleeps. This may be in fact due to there being no ions and no chance to have "hard water" build up within the machine.

Our steam cleaning mop (no #steemclean pun intended) also calls for distilled water. I personally prefer filtered tap water over distilled, but I never would have thought the quantity most people would consume would even have that big an impact on the body vs. from the source water.

It'd be interesting to see a study done on athletes performance with different types of water. I'm sure it has been done, but I'd like to spend a bit of time looking into it when I have a spare moment.

Very interesting and well written @timsaid!

Sort:  

Thanks bendjmiller222! So the steemcleaners want distilled water? Just kidding :) I will have a look for the athletes performance study. Maybe I will find something. Further I agree how fascinating biology can be.

Thanks for reading!

Haha most steemcleaners want distilled water :) Definitely interested if you find a athletes performance case study using multiple different water types / brands :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67804.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72