Sort:  

Now that is pretty cool, how many different projects does this guy have going at the same time?

I dont know, but space exploration seems to be one of his priorities. At least the transportation side of it. If his plans work out, he will soon have surpassed NASA, ESA and the Russians in that regard.

That launch was so spectacularly cool.

Yes, and the landing of the boosters was amazing, too. But what I like on this video is - the man has a sense of humor. This is recreating a movie scene, I think it was in the old animated movie "Heavy Metal", where a astronaut "drives home" to earth in a old convertible. That looks almost exactly the same like this - only now its real. And then the "Don't Panic!" on the display on the dashboard, from "Hitchhiker through the galaxy" - really hilarious.
Except... if I understood it correctly. this thing will next head to the Sun, surround it and then go to Mars, a journey of about 205 million miles. That will be the new record for a car, I guess. :)

I absolutely had a flashback to "Heavy Metal" the instant I saw that car! And my wife and I burst out laughing when we saw the Don't Panic sign.

I had a good chuckle when I found this message on the display... :)
Can you imagine NASA doing such things? No way! That could damage their seriousity, and people might think it the reason why it costs 5x as much and takes 5x as long if they do the same thing like Musk.
And Musk has great ambitions. I think the space business is what he is really aiming at. He has remarkable plans - and that already in the next decade. Listen to this presentation he did end of last year:

No, I can't imagine NASA doing such a thing--and maybe that's their problem! Of course, the other problem is that government programs automatically spend more money than private programs--it's the nature of the beast. Musk understands that if space is to be opened up, it has to be less expensive and more safe, both huge challenges. I wish him luck!

Hi, I found some acronyms/abbreviations in this post. This is how they expand:

AcronymExplanation
SFStatic fire

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00