You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The story of a curious child that became a Scientist — How I got into Science!

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Great quality post @irime!

Like yourself I was a very curious and ingenious child, my parents still complain how I always was asking questions and was never satisfied with their explanation. It is with no surprise that I ended studying physiscs hoping to find more answers. Having finished my masters recently I just realized that there are really no answers just different questions. Although I do love science I also think I could never be happy doing research. My interests are just too broad, what I love about science is the big picture how all the pices fit together with such harmony, it is true art. But when you do research you just funnel your knowledge to focus on some tiny detail and lose the beauty of the big picture. I guess this is why the dream of a unified field theory is further away today than it was 100 years ago. (actually there are some interesting theories but they receive very little atention from mainstream scientists)

Interestingly since I left school I have been able to make more sense out of the world than when I was being flooded with information. =)

Thanks for the post, Cheers

Sort:  

@bdmr Thank you for your very thoughtful comment,

Having finished my masters recently I just realized that there are really no answers just different questions. Although I do love science I also think I could never be happy doing research. My interests are just too broad, what I love about science is the big picture how all the pices fit together with such harmony, it is true art. But when you do research you just funnel your knowledge to focus on some tiny detail and lose the beauty of the big picture.

I think you just articulated a feeling that I had in my mind and hadn't quite manage to put into words myself. This is definitely another reason why I think experimental research (especially in the way it is usually conducted in academia nowadays) is not for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65566.66
ETH 3559.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48