You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Vaccine Potential: Living Viruses which are Unable to Replicate In Your Cells

in #science8 years ago

Love biochemistry, wish I could do the math. I had to switch over to another field but I've been regretting it. I read about this earlier today but didn't get the depth that you put into it. Interesting stuff, non-reproducing viruses will probably be doing a lot of work in the years to come. I've been thinking adapting viruses is the best way to make nanomachines for all sorts of work.

Sort:  

Making viruses into nanomachines sounds like a really cool topic, I don't know of anyone who is trying to do that, but it sounds like someone should be!

Making them into bacteriophages is a great start. I read something about that a few weeks ago. And there's talk of carrying drugs to specific cell types.

I'm using it in my science fiction stories, because I expect it to be real in a very few years.

I will have to look more into it. If you come across anything related to it, could you shoot a link my way (if you don't mind, I would certainly appreciate it), the whole thing sounds very interesting to me!

I'm pretty sure I read about most of this kind of stuff in Mark Bruce's Blog (which has some CRISPR news this week) http://www.scitechdigest.net/2016/12/allen-crispr-cells-advanced-synbio.html

But this might be what I was remembering (the brain calcifies with age) http://news.mit.edu/2016/crispr-curing-disease-repairing-faulty-genes-0201

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31