You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Biggest misconceptions of human evolution

in #science7 years ago

Which part of Kalimantan (Indonesian part of Borneo) are you in? Really curious and interested to know more about your work!

The illustration of evolution really highlights alot of thought provoking points to us. Mainly, how even the most radical and liberal unorthodox thinkers of the past still ascribe what we how see as dogmatic. It's not to say that Darwin is wrong, it's just that we now know more than what he did thanks to his work as our foundation and continual research by his successors.

And also how the Bayesian theory is true in everything. We will never know for certain of anything. Nothing can be 100% true in a truly scientific manner. There is always new data that will disrupt the current thinking that bring us nearer to understanding how things work. We now know that human evolution (or evolution for the matter) isn't a linear process. But a web of many many factors contributing to what we are now.

A very good read that made me go "hmmmm". Upvoted and followed for more of your stuff!

Sort:  

hey @awesomianist glad you appreciated the post and I dig the thoughtful response. Agreed, although nothing can be certain, it's amazing how much we CAN learn! New methods every day. The genetics data we get from fossils nowadays is insane.

I was in West Kalimantan at Gunung Palung National Park. Ever been around this part of the world? I loved it. I was working at a long-term research site called Cabang Panti. Lots of great work done there with orangutans and rainforest ecology. Sadly I'm not sure when I'll get the chance to go back next. Thanks again!

I happen to live north of Central Kalimantan in the state of Sarawak. That is a part of Malaysia, another country but virtually on the same island that is Borneo! So yea, I am from THAT part of the world although I live a city life.

Appreciate the response. Good posts always makes me think deeply and it'll be sad to not write down my thoughts and mental reactions down as comments.

Lobe to hear from you more and hopefully you get to travel back there if not more bizarre places and uncover stuff that might changes the way society thinks of its ancestral history!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64