You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today’s lesson: What is Sapiosexuality all about?

in #science6 years ago

If sapiosexuality was a thing, I wouldn't know how to defend myself against the hordes of women wanting to sleep with me daily! 😀Since this is not the case, it is most likely just another myth. 😂
Seriously, a statistic that would be much more interesting on this topic would be, how many people with an IQ over 130 are single. I'll bet it's a much higher percentage than below... So no, I have never met a sapiosexual being in real life. Have you?

Sort:  

If sapiosexuality was a thing, I wouldn't know how to defend myself against the hordes of women wanting to sleep with me daily

As I mentioned in another comment from @gentleshaid, the most common thing is a mix that involves intelligence.

Since this is not the case, it is most likely just another myth

Its not very common, that's true, but its real, you can read for example this report http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-5238565/One-ten-young-people-intelligence-important.html

So no, I have never met a sapiosexual being in real life. Have you?

I don't ask people if they are sapiosexual or not :D, but again, for a lot of people its necessary to have a partner who is smart.

Sure, many people say, that smartness and humor are the primary traits they are looking for in a partner - but I'm also aware, that this is only for the conscious tip of the iceberg - the rest is biological/unconscious.
In other words, you can have the most intelligent and funny partner, but when one day your body chemistry changes and you are not physically attracted anymore, these wonderful traits won't count anymore.
This is why I have a problem with the term "sapiosexual", because it makes it look like it is a biological function, while it only says something about a lifestyle choice or preference on the conscious part.

but when one day your body chemistry changes and you are not physically attracted anymore, these wonderful traits won't count anymore.

Well, they probably will count, but perhaps they won't be enough to maintain a happy relationship.

because it makes it look like it is a biological function

It is just that their brains get stimulated when interacting with an intelligent person. How would you call that if not sapiosexual?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44