Neuroplasticity: A Bridge Between Science and Magick? – A Quest for Magick #6

in #science6 years ago

Fellow Steemians,

“One dream, one soul, one prize, one goal. One golden glance of what should be…”

I know I know, that title is a bit shocking and some might say sacrilege. Science and magick; vastly different worlds, and never the two shall meet, right? But hear me out, consider if you will, neuroplasticity is akin to Bifrost, (the bridge of Norse mythology), closing the gap between these two ideologies.

bifrost.jpg

Three days ago, I was reading, or rather, listening to my book on neuroplasticity, called “The Brain That Changes Itself” (which I have mentioned in a previous post). I came across a chapter about a little boy who has CP (Cerebral Palsy), which I also have.

He and I have a lot of similarities. The most prevalent being our left sides of our bodies are both affected by our disabilities. He had little ability to control his left arm, however, he learned to control it using neuroplastic techniques which he started at a very young age. He was eight at the time the book was published, and in this short period, he learned that he could play competitive baseball with his affected hand.

I thought, if he can do it, I can do it! I have no interest in baseball, however, it was suggested that you will start with everyday tasks, so with meditative focus (and this is where the “mystical arts” come in), I decided I’ll try to turn on my computer with my left hand. And I did it!

meditation.jpg

For those of you who know me or someone with CP, you would understand that a lot of us have little to no control over at least one limb, which for me is my left arm. My left arm usually only moved in unison with my right. But beginning three days ago, I have been able to begin to separate the movements of my left arm, from my right.

PowerOn.jpg

So, is it fair to say neuroplasticity is that “one shaft of light that shows the way”? I’ve heard it said that we only use a really small percentage of our brains. Therefore, do we really know what we’re fully capable of? I sure didn’t know that control of my left arm, would ever be possible for me, and come to think of it, my doctors never thought that I would be as cognizant and capable as I am.

‘Til next time!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by andrecampbell77 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57258.35
ETH 3065.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33