You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chinese Pseudoscience: The Many Colourful Ways Chinese Medicine might Kill You

in #science6 years ago

Whenever I hear those terms, I get the creeps. It's too bad that only on the 1st of April we question the truth of the things we read (and not even then as @suesa found out on her own).
What could we do to prevent the pseudoscience from taking the world by storm. I fought it on Facebook to no avail, I fought it on Quora to no avail. I am fighting it here and for now it's better than in other places but many of the whales are already thinking pseudoscience is a thing. I read it on some blogs and I can see it here and there. I will promote and help disseminate science and use any chance to prove that pseudoscience is bad, but I really would like to think that more could be done.
Thank you for the article, I didn't know it was that prevalent there, I always thought it was more of a tradition, but not 133000! That is alot.

Sort:  

I believe pseudoscience will prevail as long as people remain willing to pass research off to others and don't understand how much more weight scientific evidence and peer-reviewed research should have compared to over-reaching promises found in anecdotes. I will admit that there is a huge amount of guessing going on surrounding health and people certainly experience decision blindness when faced with so many choices...but when approached with a proper framework to objectively view decisions through, people could stand a better chance of understanding the information presented.

I have a bigger problem with the educational system, at least the basic one.
We should teach children to differentiate between truth and lie, to be civic and to be problem solvers. Basically instill a little scientist in everyone instead of teaching them repetitive tasks.
Educators should also be paid better and educated better in this regard.
The educational system is so backwards and antique. I am from Romania, but if you are not living in Finland or Sweden, you will agree with me.

Absolutely, the scientific method is the framework I would recommend for anyone hoping to approach life from a more objective viewpoint. Classrooms that demonstrate adherence more to engagement with information, rather than collecting and organizing to no end, serve our society as the stronger individuals create a stronger society. Objectivity and mindfulness should be in the younger grades, so they grow to be people that may work toward great innovations by embracing the unique strengths they possess rather than fitting an archetype.

I have high hopes that educators will utilize this platform further to provide information to this global learning community. Perhaps there are already people sharing homeschooling curriculum on this chain highlighting these principles, I hope this makes it possible for creators of that content to receive support that they may not have received otherwise.

And that's just injection numbers... TCM is huuuuge and... ugh. shakes head.

I'm happy to see another fighting the uphill battle with me though =D We all have to do it not to 'win' but to 'not lose'. Steemit is surprisingly full of quackery whales as you said... dangerous territory...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50