You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit on Dopamine, a Way Forward: My Anniversary Post

in #science5 years ago (edited)

An anniversary post that doubles as a science post! (or is it the other way around?) What an amazing idea! And original as far as I know. And also a recommendation-for-future-direction post. And well-argued.

From early on, I made the conscious decision to make this more than about money, since at any time this could fail miserably. So I made this a training camp for blogging: I learn about a topic, and I learn how to write. So maybe, in the future, when I'm a better writer, and hopefully have near-exhaustive knowledge of the topics I've chosen, I will start writing, let's say, for Medium, beginning with rehearsing and revamping my old posts. At any rate, I think any writer must try to earn something else from steemit, and push the monetary reward as far down his list of 'reasons why I do this' as possible. Doing it just for the money is an 'all your eggs in one basket' approach that is highly risky, since you lose everything if that doesn't pan out. But the way I (and I think you, and many others) do it, we will have gained a lot even if steemit fails as a monetary project.

I missed this post, as usual! I noticed you have a new one, but the combo of science with anniversary drew me to read this first! Your audience is growing, I see. Just as I had predicted from the beginning!

I never wrote an anniversary post because I couldn't think of a non-corny way to do it. But you did it.

Happy steemanniversary!

EDIT: Turns out the other one is not yours, it's Erica's. Resteems confuse me!

Sort:  

Ha ha for getting confused. Can't tell you the number of times I've upvoted my own comment when I meant to upvote a reply :)

Thank you for the congratulations. You know, you were a very early supporter. When I was beginning it seemed immaterial to you that I had no SP or Rep. You engaged and helped to make my experience on Steemit a rich one.

As for Medium...have to check it out. Writing comes more easily to me than talking, so I'm always eager to find new outlets.

BTW, tagging you in my next post seems inevitable. For the past month I've slowly been acquainting myself with the topic. (Never heard of it before that!) My approach toward blogging is much like yours: I question, study, learn and write.

Looking forward to your next blog. I do hope Steemit thrives because I like it here :)

When I was beginning it seemed immaterial to you that I had no SP or Rep.

Yes, and it wasn't even a 'smart longterm investment' or anything shrewd like that. I'm just genuinely drawn to good content.

Never heard of it before that!

Nor had I! I thought I would need to study each tiny discipline-branch that touches on this topic myself, and then I discovered it was already neatly organized into a single field that draws from all these disparate disciplines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46