Sort:  

In my opinion, god has nothing to do with science. Similarly, understanding how the universe works from basic key principles has nothing to do with god :)

For all of human history, people have deified what they don't understand - what was once a rain god is now meteorology, and so on. As t stands today, the only 2 big questions that remain are what is existence, i.e. The universe, and what is us, i.e. the nature of our souls.

These sorta discoveries help fill in the gaps where 'god' once resided in the former category and Astrophisics may ultimately completely answer that question - hence further from god.

However the further you dig, if there is a higher power, the more likely you are to stumble upon it. Hence we are both further and closer to god.

I would also say that if god does exist, it inextricably has to do with the way the universe works. Now I would make no claims as to whether this is the case, and as far as your comment encompasses human religions, I would wholeheartedly agree, but as it pertains to the idea of some sort of creator/god, if this is why we're here, that is certainly relevant to our knowledge of the universe.

Thanks for this very detailed comment that makes me thinking! I now understand your point. I am however not sure that I agree :)

I am actually not so sure that understanding how the universe works will be able to answer the two questions you raise. The latter are indeed more on the philosophical side and could be connected to the religions. Why are we existing? What is a soul? Science will not provide answers to this.

On my side, I am more interested on the 'how things work' part. Now, as you said, maybe there is a creator behind who engineered all of this, but this will not change anything for the 'how'. I still think that fundamental science is disconnected from the god question. I don't see how the dots between these two could be connected.

PS: Just to be clear: both believing in god or not believing in god are fine with me. None should hurt.

Are you threatening me!? My bungole will not wait!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67838.57
ETH 2628.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72