You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2018 in science: from gene-edited babies to cube shaped poo (+ predictions for 2019)

in #science5 years ago

I love this post so much... full of riches. Fills my head with questions. The most controversial for me is the baby editing...this has nothing to do with religion, but economics. I can just see a Gattaca-style universe in which castes are designed genetically. Those with the means get to use gene editing to insure "superior" offspring (they do it with schools and neighborhoods now, don't they?). The poor have offspring destined to serve because they cannot avail themselves of gene editing.
You can tell, I'm a writer... stories and such, so the imagination is quite lively :)
I love the wedding of neurology and psychology. It's about time psychology became more of a 'hard science'. Diagnosis and treatment will be much more reliable.
Anyway, those are the thoughts on the top of my head after a cursory reading. I will check out the references on all the articles. And I will share this on Twitter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81