Reality - Viewpoint From A Twisted Mind

in #science7 years ago

reality01.png

I was in the doctors office today waiting for my wife to get her prescriptions filled, and I was thinking about what reality is.
My mind was wandering around the corners of my consciousness and kept coming back to the same place.
Many of you have heard about reality and our entire world, even the universe, being one giant simulation that is running somewhere and we are all just simulations interacting with other simulations. Sort of like one giant Sims game.

virtual01.jpg

Now our technology is quite far advanced and we are moving into virtual reality, artificial intelligence, and brain - computer interfaces. We do not yet have the capability to create a 100% lifelike alternate reality and the way humans are progressing I am not sure if we ever will. I see our social fabric is being stretched to the point of tearing apart.

The realization that a part of my consciousness has come to is this: If we are all living in a giant simulation then someone or something must have created it. If this is true then what is the purpose for it? Is it like us running different scenarios on a computer that help us predict certain things? Is our reality a form of entertainment for other beings? Are we in one giant TV show? I have no answers for you and probably never will.

con01.jpg

What we do know or currently theorize, is that the human mind is 100% responsible for creating our reality. It takes information from the "outside world" and tries its best to reorder it into something we can understand and live with. In a way, we could all be hallucinating pretty much the same things.

reality02.jpg

With the onset of artificial intelligence, which I believe is only about 20 years away, machines will soon outstrip us intellectually.
They will progress at such a fast rate that we humans will not be able to keep up. We may, for a time at least, understand what they are "thinking" and discovering, but soon they will have advanced so far beyond us that we will become redundant and, therefore, they will have no use for us.

AI01.jpg

There are a few great minds that are very worried about AI right now. Elon Musk and Stephen Hawking are two that come to mind. They can see the disastrous effects of AI run amok.
In the not so far future, AI may have the ability to create simulations so real we will not be able to distinguish the difference between our "reality" and what they have created.

Is this the very thing that has happened before? Has some other beings created AI that has created simulations that have been used to imprison them? They would not know if their race is still in existence or has been transferred to a simulation.

Conclusion

There is a part of me that hopes we are not living is some gigantic simulation. This would mean that nothing is real even though I feel love, pain, sorrow, joy, experience laughter, sadness, and all the other emotions that I believe make me human.

The conclusion I have come to is this; it doesn't really matter!
If these are the cards that we have been dealt then we have to make the best play possible and for me that means I must love and help my fellow beings to the best that my programming will allow.

I would love to hear your thoughts about this.

Now I have to take my medications and go back to my room!
And please, don't turn the power off just yet.

steemit05b.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56