Red Tide under the Microscope

in #science6 years ago

I met one of my friends who work in agency monitoring harmful algal blooms (HABs). Or commonly called red tides. I do not know why we often use that term. However, according to my microbiology professor, they are not technically called red tides. First, not all HABs are red. Their colors vary from blue (if I can remember my microbiology notes) to pink to red. Second, they are not attributed to tides. HABs occur because these organisms, usually dinoflagellates, grow uncontrollably. Factors for their uncontrollable growth or increase in number include, but not limited to, nutrient availability, salinity, etc.

Going back to my friend. She was monitoring one water sample from one of our bays. And she said, that bay is positive for toxic harmful algal bloom. Which means, seashells are not healthy to be eaten. And fish should be washed thoroughly.

And she let me took a picture of what plankton we see under a microscope when HABs strike. Look at all those plankton. Pyrodinium bahamense var. compressum is the dark, oval-shaped like in the picture. Ceratium furca (I hope I am right) is the Eiffel tower-shaped like. These, when found to be in significant cell density, are some indicators of HABs.

Anyway, I just want to show you this micrograph.

Cheers !

IMG20171016145140-01.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @abrahamcera, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 45

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Thanks for the support. I promise to post more quality content post.

You are a great member of our great community. We are glad.

I appreciate this. This is actually my goal. To post not just stuff happening in my life but also of the things that people may not know. And I have found it here on steemit. I am also glad that significant accounts like @asapers , @surpassinggoogle , @mirrors , among others appreciate my existence. Thank you.

The pleasure is mine @abrahamcera. Thanks. Steem on.

Very interesting. I thought red tide was red, I thought that's where the name came from! Thanks for including the photo. ☺

See? Doesn't it make you appreciate life more?

It doesn't look anything like Plankton at all!!! We have been duped by Spongebob! 😂 Wait, I might be looking at the round ones...

Sucks I can't get a Masters for marine biology. I remember it again because of this post. Ah life...

I have a photo micrograph of a plankton that looks like plankton from spongebob. Plankton come in different shapes and sizes.

Oh that's interesting... Will check on it when you've posted it. :)

Wow so interesting post you got there, learned that red tide is not red and plankton is not the plankton we see in spongebob :)

There is actually a plankton that looks like plankton in spongebob. I am gonna share that soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67920.11
ETH 3854.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69