You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Most Dangerous Ant in the World

in #science6 years ago (edited)

I am going to have nightmares tonight @agmoore! 😐

Ants feasting on patients's wounds, invading ventilator tubes, transporting resistant pathogens. Wow! I was aware of HAIs, but it never occurred to me that they could be caused by ants. As it never occurred to me to put ants in the same box as flies and cockroaches - at least, when it comes to how unhygienic they are.

This is truly scary, as much as learning the incredibly high rate of HAIs reported in some Brazilian hospitals. My Gosh ... My brother will find your post very interesting and informative too. I will be forwarding it to him as soon as I finish here :) He is a physiotherapist who works in an ICU unit (with ventilators).

I am impressed by the extent of your research. You really went for it! The result? A unique, informative and engaging post 😊

Lots of love to you from rainy Portugal! :*

Sort:  

Thank you! Yes, me too, nightmares. Really rather disgusting, isn't it? And yet, we have to know. What seemed to come through from researchers was the importance of getting this information out. People, including me, traditionally regard ants more benignly than those other carriers of disease. It's a dangerous misconception.
You can tell I was very influenced by my research. Glad you can see the depth of it. I thought, if this is to be credible, it has to be properly grounded.
I didn't know what kind of response such unpleasant information would receive, but I pressed on anyway. So glad one of my favorite people appreciated my work.
Love from balmy New York....I hope the sun shines soon in Portugal. 🌄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01