You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Pen to Paper, From Paper to Reality: How Science Fiction Inspires Real Change

in #sci-fi8 years ago (edited)

I agree that science fiction has been helpful in pushing the limits of the technological revolution. However, I feel that it is not always for the best. In some cases, the ideas put forth in science fiction novels have been stolen and expanded upon by those with the economic power to do so. This often results in an increase in economical, as well as political power, which can then be used to perpetuate the decimation of the middle class, leaving the 1% with an even larger share of the pie while the rest struggle to pay the bills. When governments expand upon ideas presented within sci-fi novels, it can also lead to new and improved ways to surveil the population, as well as more innovative methods of deceiving them and hiding the truth.
Thank you for the interesting read nonetheless.

Sort:  

Thats true. However, I think that no matter what you do, men will dream of new things, new places, new technologies. I think it would be undercutting exactly the kind of freedom you say governments frequently limit to try to limit the science fiction put out that give the elite class ideas on how to stay on top. I fully agree with the common saying that it is not the technology that is good or evil, but how it is used.

Oh, I wasn't suggesting that there should be any restrictions on the content in sci-fi novels. I'm not an advocate of censorship in any form. It is just a shame that people always seem to find something innocent and morph it into something sinister. I do think that technology can be evil in itself though. There are some inventions that were never intended for good. Torture devices for instance. And though this is probably a controversial opinion, to me, even weapons development can never truly be justified as a means of forging peace. Weapons are for hurting others, so we need to just stop making them all together. Sorry, I realise I drifted off topic somewhat. My apologies.

No worries, thats a totally valid point and I guess youre right. Intent upon creation is also important.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60677.93
ETH 3360.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50