You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Pen to Paper, From Paper to Reality: How Science Fiction Inspires Real Change

in #sci-fi8 years ago

Philip K. Dick has an old short-story about this very concept. I made a post about it a while back discussing the interesting ties that exist between sci-fi (especially classical) and our modern world. I've even come to commenting about "waterspider" instances when I read or hear about certain things in reference to the story by Dick.

Sort:  

What is the short story? Id be interested in reading it.

The story is titled "Waterspider". It was originally published for a Sci-Fi magazine in the '60s and was part of a collection released as one big book. I don't remember specifically which compilation book, though.

I fell in love with Philip K. Dick because of the naturalness to a lot of the science fiction he wrote. It was way out there, but it was still portrayed in such a way that it sounds entirely possible/believable.

Instead of writing out the whole thing here, I'd love to share one of my older posts, The Curious Case of Pre-Cogs, since it covers another of my favorite 100+ year-old stories that talks about the future of science fact being predicted in science fiction.

Cool article and thanks for the story recommendation. I have cursory knowledge of Philip K. Dick's work (most sci-fi ive read is from the past 20 years or so), but ill definitely do some deeper reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61394.39
ETH 3386.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50