Monochrome Monday ~ To The Moon ~ Original Nighttime Photography ~

in #schteinnsciencephoto7 years ago (edited)

P1150765-1 sharper 182kb.jpg

The Moon From Earth - USA - My Backyard - One Night In October - Rather Late


Image taken in my back yard one night, on a tripod with my small Lumix camera set on 40X zoom with digital zoom added. Not exactly high, telescope quality, but sometimes we do the best with what we've got at the moment.

The hardest part was FINDING the moon at 40X+ zoom. Zinging the viewfinder all around the sky, until the bright orb came into view. I think there's a reason they have computerized tracking devices on telescopes.

"That it?...No, that's the chrome bumper of the neighbor's '65 Chevy, move it up a bit"! Back to zinging. Once you've got it into view, DON'T TOUCH ANYTHING, don't even breathe hard.

There's a good chance after last week's Color Challenge, I'll get the inevitable question, "did you note any flowers on the surface of our Moon during this experiment?" To this I say, no, that's somewhat silly. Everyone knows there's no flowers on the Moon. They just don't grow well in a soil substrate heavy in Green Cheese.

Thanks for stopping in, and taking in a view of the Moon from the back 40.

Lumix ZS-19   1/160 @ F6.4  ISO 200



Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Sort:  

The problem you have here with no flowers is quite apparent to a highly trained and skilled astronomer and photographer like myself: The picture is black and white, the FLOWERS are also black and white. The perfect camouflage! Oh they are there. I have proof! Now you see why they are so hard to spot.

BW_ROSE400P1030627.JPG

All I can say is "EUREKA", it all makes sense now, Mon. I appreciate the heads up from another member of the vaunted Scientific Community. Hiding in plain sight they are...pesky flowers. Thanks for the 4th of July hearty chuckle, with illustration I might add. Greatly appreciated, and much needed after a day of heavy weedeating. Have a nice night.

Very nice and detailed.

Thank you for the view and compliment. It is rather pixel-ated, but still amazing you can see so many craters and features. It would be fun to mess about with a telescope. One more thing to add to the photo list.

Excellent post dear friend @ddschteinn congratulations on this beautiful capture, thank you very much for sharing this beautiful photo
Have a beautiful lady

Thank you for stopping in and the nice comment. And I will try to have a beautiful lady, but think that might be day? Or is lady correct? Hmm

He might be on to something! Kind of a new well wishing statement. Probably best reserved for males mostly, "Have a beautiful lady". Kind of has a ring to it LOL

Nice post! I thought it was the moon at first sight.....and just realized what it is from the middle of your article! It's unfortunate that there's no flowers on the Moon! Well done!

I looked and looked, but just couldn't find any. Maybe because it's in black and white? Thanks for stopping in, and enjoying the moon. And have a wonderful day.

You are much welcome! I look forward to your next development with much interest! Have a wonderful day, too! ;)

Sweet photo! And I thought the moon is made of yellow cheese. Hm...

Thank you. Maybe I need to watch more Wallace and Gromit...

amazing Photo thanks for sharing upvoted

I love how much you can see here. It's so hard to get pictures like this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94