Garlic Seeds... I Didn't Even Know They Existed :0)

The fact that garlic grows seeds was completely new to me. Nature keeps stunning me, every time again...

garlicseed.JPG

I’ve been growing garlic from cloves for two years now. Easy peasy: just put the clove in the ground and forget about it. Once the greens start dying, it is time to harvest.

It never occurred to me that there was such a thing as garlic seed. When I noticed a bulb at the top of the greens last month, I had to go look up what it could be.

What I found out really surprised me. The bulb contains the flower, which actually grows garlic seeds.

Garlic is rarely grown from seed, because the seed takes too long to germinate. It’s easier and faster to put a clove in the ground.

But now I have some, I could just as well give it a try, right?!


organicgardener.jpg

053FC29C-2BBE-45A7-B1F1-5558DB9F9668.gif



E86F2852-8922-4C31-B7EA-20A77517A086.jpeg

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-25T17:01:03
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 24.55/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Me neither! Surprisingly enough they look almost exactly like onion seeds without the pink hue. I planted leftover onions in my garden and they seeded as well. Until now I too didn’t know onions seeded that way. I will follow this comment with a photo of my onion seeds so you can see how similar they are. Congratulations on your garlic seeds! 😊

Thanks :0)
I only found out about onion seeds when I was looking up info about these garlic seeds.
Guess it's never too late to learn new things, lol

Maybe you will get bigger better garlic, new blood, not clones. More nutrition. If you plant all the cloves from a single garlic would they not all be clones of the mother plant? A garlic from a seed would only have half the mother plant dna, the other half from a different one maybe. I don't know. Are all plants clones?

Yeah it's not so common to grow it from seeds...let me know how it works out! :-)
I also like wild garlic, it has even more beautiful flowers.

I think it is available in different varieties. Even I did not know garlic had seeds. Good luck with your experiment.

Well, you learn something new every day!

I figure the easiest way is to let a couple of them self-seed. Why make work for ourselves? I hope I (finally) get to play next year.
Great post though.

Wow I thought you just plant the clove too and that's it. That's pretty cool to know.

And your garden will be protected from vampires!

Thanks to @viking-ventures, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

My dad had a lot of self-sown garlic this year from last years garlic seeds! They don't get as big as garlic sown from cloves, but on the other hand there are lots of small ones that just came by themselves :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57135.10
ETH 2349.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39