PoC that college isn't necessary

in #schooling8 years ago

More STEEMit, more fun(?) stuff to share ;)


So my post from yesterday got 29 votes, or about $38 to $48 worth of STEEM power (depending on the rate of course), to which I am grateful to the fantastic STEEMit community. What's even more awesome for me is that I did absolutely no publicity for it, just posted it and shared the link with Jacob, coz he's the one who got me into it :)


Yesterday's post also showed me just how wrong my Dad is about the world. He told my lil sis (yes, 13 year olds are also told this shit) that there's no way I'm getting a job worth more than 2k INR/month (please do take the pains to convert that into USD and see what it is) without scoring a 90%+ score in my class 12 exams and get into a big college. Of course she told me all that and more (she's like a...I don't know. I rant to her about Dad and Dad rants to her about me :p, thankfully she only lets out the shit onto my side, so Dad is in the dark). And my yesterday night's (2AM) post already got me more than $35. I am not saying that I wanna shove that into Dad's face and show that "Hey! Look here, I already earned more in 12 hours that I was supposed to earn in a month". This was never the intention. My STEEMit escapades are a simple PoC that there are alternate ways to earn your livelihood in this world, not just the usual school + college + campus placement.


Another thing Dad says is that I have no real skills. I was commissioned to build my school's app about two and a half months ago. It's still not done. He says that's because I don't know anything. I keep screaming "I'm an Android dev" and yet I can't make an app. Here's my reply.


First and foremost, I'm a *platform* developer. An app developer's life is arguably shittier. If someone even checks out my Java projects, they're all device trees and proprietary blobs. ALL OF 'EM. I didn't do Android App development before this and it has been a great learning experience. I've stopped working on the app from home now, only to show my parents it's not the app to blame if I'm not scoring good in my examinations. The simple point is that I was a chicken hearted bastard afraid to step out of the lines the society drew for me, so I chose to study science. Another reason the app is still not done is that schools aren't the best clients if you're not a professional, coz they're never sure exactly what they want.

THIS IS WHY THE APP ISN'T DONE


The only real argument they have is that this is India and the college way is the only one that works in here, for which I need y'all to help me out. Is India really that bad? Was my worst stroke of luck being born in India?


PLEASE comment and help me to prove to my parents that my school and college aren't the only ways to not starve to death.



Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.9 and reading ease of 87%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Thought: wanna know what consistently brings in the bucks on STEEMit?

Apps leveraging steem blockchain of course. Many many many of which are written in..... Python....

Well that's tempting... Any places I can see a few of them in action?

India is not bad. Those are the society members who adopted some conventions to live in the society and get successful. But the worst part about it is, if someone does not follow their convention they start criticizing those unconventional fellows.

I upvote U

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54